download (1)On Friday the 5th of May, I took part in Special Olympics Ireland’s National Collection Day. I did this as part of TY and also as my swimming coach, Sinead Donagher plays a major role within the Special Olympics in our area. I collected at the roundabout and Centra for a total of 3 hours, within this time many people donated money to the cause. I found this was very beneficial and enjoyable as it made me look further into their charity and what they do.

Special Olympics Ireland changes lives and is a sports organisation for people with an intellectual disability. It provides athletes with not just the physical benefits of sport but it also provides them with fun, friendships and team spirit. Special Olympics has many aspects which ultimately change lives including how the athletes develop both physically and emotionally, they make new friends, realise their dreams and know they can fit in. As you can see, Special Olympics enables the athletes to achieve and win not only in sport but in life too.

Overall, I thought this was very good as I boosted my communication skills and confidence and I also got to fund raise and learn about a charity, I would otherwise know very little about.download.jpeg

